Chick temperature, heat lamps and a cold house

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickawawa, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Chickawawa

Chickawawa Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2012
    Tawawa, Ohio
    Hi! This is our first time with chicks so I wanted to throw this out there to get some opinions.

We have 9 chicks about a week old and 3 in the three week range. We brought them home last Friday and Saturday and had the heat lamp set to 95°. I was going to raise the lamp so we could get to the 90° mark as I've read I am supposed to do but some (even the older chicks) are still hanging out under the lamp occasionally and some are finding other parts of the brooder. It's probably also important to know we keep our house at 58° (sweatshirts are cheaper than propane).

Common sense is telling me it's okay to leave the lamp where it is for awhile but being a newbie I'd feel better with some validation or better advice.

Thanks in advance for your input.

2. mattsinger

mattsinger Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2013
    Davison, MI
    It shouldnt hurt to leave it, but you can move the light up some. They will probably still hang out under the light some but can start getting their bodies acclimated to something less than 90 degrees. if they are cold, they will spend more time under the light

3. debid

debid Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2011
    middle TN