CHICK W/ SEVERELY BROKEN LEG! PLEASE HELP!!!!!!! (PICS & VIDEO!!)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickgirl, Feb 15, 2008.

1. chickgirl

chickgirl Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2008
    Hi! Im new to chicken keeping and I have a 3 day old chick that I believe has been stepped on by a horse. Its leg is shriveled up and appears dead. I think it has a break at the joint. There didn't seem to be any blood on the leg and I don't think she can move it. other than the leg injury it seems in good health and spirits. Does anyone have any suggestions about what to do for it? THANKS!!!!! [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 22, 2008
  2. spencereb

spencereb Out Of The Brooder

Feb 17, 2007
    Tennessee
    Chickgirl,
    I have had several chicks that stated off just fine.[​IMG] Then at maybe a week or two, they started to get sort of paralyzed in the leg, where they couldn't stand up hardly.[​IMG] They certainly could not run with the others. But they were alert and seemed ok, otherwise. After about a week of TLC, they all seemed to over come it, and they all went on to live happy productive lives![​IMG]

I believe that in the beginning, they actually grew too fast for their legs, and when they got to where they could not get the same food and water, their growth slowed and their legs caught up in developement with their piggy bodies! Hopefully, with time yours will pull through, too.[​IMG]

Some pictures would help the local experts, I'm just guessing from my past experience.

Good luck,
    -Spence

3. chickgirl

Feb 15, 2008
    Thanks! hopefully what you said is true for my chick. As for the picture......... Im new to this site so Im not sure I will be able to do that. LOL

4. spencereb

Feb 17, 2007
    Tennessee
    Chickgirl,
    Last night I did my first ever image post.[​IMG] It is both super easy and quite involved, at the same time.:|