Chick with Injured Eye

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by calliope_sky, Apr 9, 2009.

1. calliope_sky

calliope_sky New Egg

Apr 9, 2009
    Hi everyone.

I am totally new to the whole chicken thing, so please bear with me.

We got four chicks this week via mail order. We ordered 5, but one didn't survive. We're using a huge, high-sided aluminium tub as their pen for now, the heat lamp is mounted pretty high, there's a low branch down the lenght of the tub (for them to hop on), and we're using shaved wood (?) for bedding. (apologies if I'm using all the wrong terms) Anyway, on to the immediate need. Sometime between last night and today, the RI Red was either pecked in the eye or somehow injured it. [​IMG]

The eyelid is completely closed and there looks to be a little bit of blood on the lid. I can see the eyeball moving underneath the lid, but the lids will not open/seperate. I tried applying very very light pressure above and below the lid in attempt to pull the eyelids apart, but the chick squirmed too much and I was afraid of doing more harm than good. Hubby tried to, very gently, use a warm wet Qtip to wipe along the eye, but that didn't work either.

Other that the eye issue, the chick is active, eating, drinking, poo-ing, and not in any way lethargic. She is running a little lopsided and the other chicks are not being overly abusive.

So, any advice?

Thanks for your help and patience and I apologize for the long message.

2. teddiliza

teddiliza Chillin' With My Peeps

I have a similar problem with one of my chicks who I'm sure was pecked by the 'Queen Bee' firstborn chick. I'd like to know if anyone else had a good outcome from this.

3. chilling in muscadine

chilling in muscadine { I love being disfunctual }

Jun 8, 2008
    muscadine, al.