Chick with Poopy bum......Advice please.........

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ponygal12, May 20, 2010.

1. ponygal12

ponygal12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 29, 2009
    New Hampshire
    Hi everyone! This is my first time raising chicks and I have some questions. My about 2 day old New Hampshire Red has poo in her vent area. I wiped it early but now there's more. Is this normal? What can I do to help? I will take a picture if neccesary. Any advice is greatly appreciated....thanks!

2. A1 Steak Sauce

A1 Steak Sauce Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 6, 2009
    My House
    I think I read on here about people rubbing the area with olive oil or the like... Hopefully someone will know for sure. Good luck!

Last edited: May 20, 2010
  3. Chickengal505

Chickengal505 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2010
    Bolivia N.C
    Hello this stage your baby is going through is quite comman! Now this will seem weird but its called pastey butt Thats when the chicks growing and her tummy goes wacky!!! The runny poo gets on the fluff and can block the vent preventing the chick from releaving herself this part can be deadly! Now the fluff is the problem here so when i get chicks i tear some of the fluff of in your case take hold of the dried poop and pull it off it the point to get the fluff! Now she'll squack and it may bleed a tad but she'll thank you some day!

4. ponygal12

Nov 29, 2009
    New Hampshire
    So it is normal.....phew..my chick had be worried therer. I'll keep cleaning it and tear off some fluff. Thanks!

5. AndreaS

AndreaS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2010
    Hurdle Mills, NC