chick with swollen head? update she's eating!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by klf73, Aug 27, 2008.

1. klf73

klf73 Mad Scientist

Jun 1, 2008
    Maine
    I just assisted a chick that was stuck. I wasn't sure at first, but now I think it's head is swollen. When it opens it's eyes it looks like someone gave it a facelift, eyes being pulled back. Is there anything I can do for this chick or is it a lost cause?
    thanks
    Krista

Last edited: Aug 29, 2008
  2. BJ

BJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2007
    Did it just hatch? I have no experience with this...except to say that I would definitely keep watch for a day or two before making any radical decisions on what to do.

3. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    I think you should post a pic before you make a decision !!!

4. klf73

klf73 Mad Scientist

Jun 1, 2008
    Maine
    k, will do, if my 9 mo ever decides to o to sleep [​IMG]

5. luvmychicknkids

luvmychicknkids Canning Squirrel

Mar 6, 2008
    Floresville, Texas
    I had a chick hatch a few months ago that I determined was hydrocephalic. Head swollen, eyes looked strange like you are describing, and she had parkinsons like shaking. Somewhere on here there is a thread with the suggstions I was given. I know just a bunch of vitamins and such. Anyway, within a few days she was fine. Now, you would never have a clue. [​IMG]

6. klf73

klf73 Mad Scientist

Jun 1, 2008
    Maine