Chick with wry neck

chicknmania

Free Ranging
17 Years
Jan 26, 2007
central Ohio
Hello, I have a two week old Welsummer chick who has developed wry neck. I got her from the feed mill and she's been healthy up til now, as have the other chicks (who are different breeds). I have put high potency poultry vitamins (Rooster Booster B & K) in their water, and she has drunk a lot of it. She also seems to have a lice infestation so I treated her with Poultry Protector, and I will treat their pen, also. She is so small, though, I'm just not sure how to administer vitamin e and selenium, and what the quantities would be for a bird that small. Can anyone give me direction on this? Should I use a dropper, and how much? And how do I keep her from aspirating it?

Hello. I have only dealt with wry neck once so I am far from an expert. Not positive on correct doses but had a little cockerel pop out of the egg with wry neck and treated as best I could. He turns 1 next month...still has a few issues but gets along ok. He had such a hard time drinking that I started giving him 1/4 of a cucumber (with really tiny seeds) 3-4 times a day as he seemed to be able to Peck at it and supplement his fluid intake. I quickly realized that I could spread his vitamin e and selenium on the cucumber and get it into him that way. Worked like a charm and I didn't have to panic about squirting things down his throat. He was a banty so very tiny to hold onto. I don't really recall doses to be honest and don't want to give you wrong info but just a suggestion to get it into her. Good luck and don't give up too fast...my guy had several relapses before he could finally keep his head upright.

Our little wry neck chick that hatched this year we only supplemented vitamin with electrolyte to the community water. Four weeks now and you'd have to look for it to notice she still has minor issues. She should grow out of it.