Chicken attacking me, why?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Cluckcluckeroo, Jan 3, 2014.

1. Cluckcluckeroo

Cluckcluckeroo Out Of The Brooder

Jan 3, 2014
    Hi all, im new to BYC and raising chickens myself for the first time. Last April my dad got me five chicks for easter and ive been raisin them since. They're all very sweet. I have 1 Dominique looking rooster, 1 Golden Pencil Hamburg girl, and 3 other girls that look like cornish or cornish mixed. I dont know the breed for sure.
    One of the cornish ladies has become very aggressive. She will peck and pull at my pants and kick me, causing her to scratch me. And her neck feathers flare up as if shes about to fight me. Sometimes when im just walking normally, she'll just run up and attack me. And sometimes I walk too close to her. Ive researched why shes acting like this. Ive read that its possible that she may be a rooster or that she may be broody, but shes not laying eggs right now. Ive also read that picking her up, covering her eyes, holdin her upside down, using a herding stick, or even separating her from the flock works. Ive not used any of those methods yet but I have tried the herding stck.... and it didnt work 
    ive worn different types of pants and shoes but she still attacks, whereas the others just peck curiously then leave.
    These attackss are frustrating. Am I perhaps at the bottom of the pecking order? Is she stressed?
    Another thing. The chickens shy away from me when i try to pet them. They walk around me and all but wont let me hold em or pet them. How can I fix this? :)

Give me your thoughts please! I dont want my parents turning her (or it) into soup :'(
    Thanks in advance :D

2. PinkFlamingoFrm

PinkFlamingoFrm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2013
    Pennsylvania