Chicken batch 2 days late

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by QChickieMama, Sep 16, 2012.

1. QChickieMama

QChickieMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2011
    This is my first time trying to hatch a batch of chicken eggs in a still-air incubator w/o a turner. I've been turning them by hand 3x/day all this time. They were due to hatch yesterday, and not a pip in sight. The temp has varied a bit...mostly between 99-103. (It's just a stupid incubator. My better incubator is full.)

I don't think anything seriously went wrong that I can tell: temp never stayed super high for very long, they were turned every day, the RH was just right. And, they're eggs from my flock w/a proven rooster.

I'll wait a few more days, but I'm trying to learn what's what. Is a still-air incubator w/o a turner just an unworkable situation?

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Did you stop turning the eggs and locked down on day 18?
    Your temperature went a bit high (103), which could be a problem, but it usually causes the eggs to hatch early. You can test the eggs for signs of life by floating them. Fill a bowl with warm water (100*) and gently place the eggs in there, one by one. If it's alive it'll move in the water. Hopefully they're o.k. and will hatch soon!

3. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    No your temp if anything was too low. Just wait. You will probably be a few days late. In a still air your temp should be 101 at the top of the eggs. Take some out and candle to see if you see any life. If your temp didn't stay at 103 for very long that won't effect it. Make sure you get your humidity back up to 70% as soon as you are done candling. Let us know bow it goes.
    Fingers crossed for you.
    Michele

4. QChickieMama

Oct 1, 2011
    Yes, I locked down on day 18 which was last Wed.

5. QChickieMama

Oct 1, 2011