1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Chicken Bleeding Below Rectum

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by spanglers1, Jul 17, 2018.

1. spanglers1

spanglers1 Hatching

Jul 17, 2018
    My hen is bleeding below the rectum. It is not the rectum. I am not sure what the cause is. Is anyone familiar with this. I am new to raising hens - she is 5 months old. Any advice would be appreciated. There appears to be a lot of blood but it is not actively bleeding.

The Phantom likes this.
  2. The Phantom

The Phantom I love birds!!! Premium Member

She could be close to laying and have laid a first egg. Have you seen any bloody eggs?

nightowl223 likes this.
  3. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Feather & Fur Whisperer Premium Member

Jun 26, 2014
    Upstate NY
    Are your other hens plucking her feathers? If so, I would spray her wound with Blu-Kote.

4. staceyj

staceyj Crossing the Road

Jan 1, 2017
    Coastal NC
    My Coop
    The best thing to do to get the best help from the community is bring her inside, get her cleaned up and take photos.
    Nice clear ones.
    When you post them attach them as “full size image” instead of “thumb nail”.
    That was people can use the zoom feature and get started with guidance.

You’ll want to set her up inside tonight for sure Ina dog crate, box, laundry basket. Keep her warm and hydrated.

Things that come to mind immediately:
    Pecking wound
    Prolapse
    (Pecking wound because of prolapse)
    Fly strike
    Animal attack.

5. spanglers1

spanglers1 Hatching

Jul 17, 2018
    This is the best I can do photo wise. Hopefully someone can help. IMG_1424.jpg

The Phantom likes this.
  6. ShouldabeenaVET

ShouldabeenaVET Chirping

Dec 30, 2017
    wyoming/montanee line