Chicken Breeds

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Pyotr Koecher, Nov 2, 2015.

1. Pyotr Koecher

Pyotr Koecher Out Of The Brooder

Nov 1, 2015
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Hullo friends! I have been raising chickens for about six years now. I have raised Buff Orpingtons, Rhode Island Red, Leghorns, and Americaunos. I have a friend that's thinking of raising chickens, but he only has a quarter of an acre. I was thinking of raising some Sussex chickens for him, as I have been told they do well in small places. Any suggestions? All are helpful, thank you!

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! I'm afraid i have raised Sussex before so can't be if much help on that. You could stop by the breed section for reviews on them. Here is the link ~https://www.backyardchickens.com/products/category/chicken-breeds

Lovely to hear your friend is going to chicken keeping a go. I'm sure you all be able to help very much. I've just got my mother set up with some and she is really enjoying them.

Good luck and enjoy BYC :frow

3. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

I have Speckled Sussex in my mixed flock and they seem to take up as much space as any of our other dual purpose birds. If space is an issue for your friend, why not look at bantams? There are all kinds of them any more and then maybe your friend could keep them at their place.

4. Skylercarr

Skylercarr Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2015
    You can always get bantams. They don't need a lot of space.

5. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana