Chicken bum leg-no other symptoms

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ydkjenn, Aug 19, 2014.

1. ydkjenn

ydkjenn Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2013
    I've looked through the forums and didn't really see anything that would explain a bum leg or what to do about it. Yesterday, my daughter notices one of our hens (about 7 mos old) was holding her leg up. She was able to get to her roost and stayed there even this morning when I let them out of the coop. I took her down from the roost and examined her leg. I don't see a wound, swelling and/or scab that might be bumblefoot, she's not splayed like Mareks, and when I moved her leg and palpated it, everything seemed to be in order. I'm new to chickens though so might have missed something. She hobbles/hops and uses her wing as support when needed. Today, we put food and a water bowl right in front of her and she gladly ate and drank, so I dont' think she was getting too much yesterday. The other chickens seem to be picking on her though. I'm wondering if I should isolate her in a dog crate for awhile and hope that she gets better with time? Or should I do something more proactive??
    I would hate to have to put her down as my kids (age 5 & 6) would be devastated!
    Any ideas what could be causing the lameness/??

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013