Chicken....chickens.....Scared of everything

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Gabbychick, Aug 16, 2014.

1. Gabbychick

Gabbychick New Egg

Aug 16, 2014
    I'm new to having chickens. I got my 2 beautiful Light Brahma hens 1 month ago. They were about 22 - 23 weeks old. I did a great deal of reading before getting them and they were greatly anticipated. They live in a chicken tractor with an omlet fencing system for more room to roam. They are very friendly to me but are scared of everything else. If my pigeons fly they run into the coop. A bluejay yells and in the coop again. They seem to spend almost all of their time in the coop even though they have a great run. The are fed orgainic grains, beetles, superworms and all the vegs and fruits . How can I get them to not be such "chicken" chickens. We do have a great deal of property and they are quite close to the house as I like to look out and see them. We also have a dog who is learning to stay away from the tractor.

2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

Congrats on your new flock! Brahmas are a great breed!

Your birds are probably scared because they are still fairly new to their new home. They are stressed by the changes. Give them time. Make to keep all things that frighten them at bay. I know you can't control wild birds and sounds but try and keep your dog and other people away for a while. Also make sure to spend time with them each day. You are lucky they like you. Usually birds who are new to a home don't even like their owners. So keep on bonding with them.

You may also want to check out our learning center. There you'll find tons of helpful info.
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Glad you joined and good luck!

3. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008