1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicken death..why?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by dddockins, Jun 23, 2016.

1. dddockins

dddockins New Egg

Mar 16, 2016
    Jackson MO
    I am new to raising chickens but have spent a great deal of money and become attached to my girls. My chickens are 12-16 weeks old and have been in their new cool for 2 weeks. Yesterday, I discovered my 14 week old buff polish wouldn't stand and was very lethargic. The other polish would walk around like she was drunk and limping on one leg with a drooped wing. I immediately pulled these two from the clock and put them in the sick bay pen. I gave them both electrolytes and the buff died 10 minutes later. I noticed bloody poop in her cage. Her litter mate was going crazy and seemed to be in pain. Since I was so worried it was coccidiosis I made the horrible desicion to euthanize her. I had bought every possible book and have been completely overwhelmed by information and loss. I don't have unlimited resources, a chicken vet or any idea what the problem was. I love the remaining 4 birds and am afraid another situation will present itself and I don't know what to do. Any advice?

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio