Chicken Deworming Protocols

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by ourlilfarm2015, Aug 28, 2016.

1. ourlilfarm2015

ourlilfarm2015 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2016
    Northeast NE
    Okay I am a newbie to the world of chicken ownership. I have 10 silver lace Wyandotte hens that are approximately going on 4 months old as well as 2 ducks. They are on crumble feed that is grower mixed with layer in the process of switching completely to layer (they also get scratch grain more as a daily treat and kitchen scraps - have also watched them kill and eat a mouse that was quite the massacre to witness that's a story for another day lol). I have my dogs, horses, and barn cats all on their own deworming protocols per species but I am curious if my 10 chickens and 2 ducks should be on some sort of protocol as well. I assume they get parasites just the same as any other critter and I also am aware they can get coccidiosis.

Now as far as deworming methods/products I am more so interested in veterinary approved/recommended methods vs the homeopathic type but will take all recommendations into consideration. Would love if someone's recommendations are actually what their vet told them to do (we have zero vets in our area that deal with chickens).

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Chickens aren't longed lived enough to worry about deworming unless you actually see there's a problem. Most animals shouldn't be wormed on a schedule anymore as it makes worms resistant to wormers and many no longer work. I have never wormed any of my chickens and don't believe it's necessary under most circumstances.

1 person likes this.
  3. ourlilfarm2015

ourlilfarm2015 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2016
    Northeast NE
    I routinely have fecals ran on the other animals to see what we have going on and deworm with the appropriate product.

4. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member