Chicken eating each others feathers?? Diet problem or not?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Autumn Acres, Dec 18, 2011.

1. Autumn Acres

Autumn Acres Out Of The Brooder

Jun 20, 2011
    3 of my 5 chickens have these bald spots above their tails. I have not witnessed them pulling these feathers, and I have also not noticed a large number of feathers in their coop? So today was the first day I've let them outside to forage in a while (I leave for work in the dark, and come home in the dark, so I can't take a good look at them sometimes!) and that's when I noticed this. I have 1 EE Rooster, 1 Buff Orpington hen, 1 Barred Rock hen, and 2 Americauna hens. The bald spots are on the rooster, the buff orpington, and one of the americaunas.

Please help -- I'm new to chickens, so I need all the help I can get.

I live in MT, and the weather is below freezing everyday. They live in the barn, under a heat lamp, but it's still cold in there! They are all 7 months old, and they are still laying eggs daily (I thought that would stop with cold weather, but it has not!) Their feed is Purina layena, and about 5 days a week, they get a cup of cracked corn. Is there anything I'm missing in their feed that might prevent this feather loss? Do I need to worm them? What am I missing? And more importantly, where can I pick up the items you're suggesting!

Thanks!

2. lotzahenz

lotzahenz Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2008
    Lexington, Kentucky
    I've always heard to increase the protein content of your feed, so the local feed store should be able to suggest something for that. Maybe you need a "RED" bulb at night, so they sleep a little better at night as well, or some other form of brooder/heater. Then also, check for lice and mites, just in case. BEst of luck and happy holidays!

3. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    It could be Nutrition, Mites, Lice, Boredom the list could go on.