chicken eats her eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by guenther hubert, Feb 26, 2016.

1. guenther hubert

guenther hubert New Egg

Dec 15, 2015
    I have a 7 or 8 month old isbar bluish black chicken. She crushes her egg and eats the yolk. I just started raising chicken so I am new at this. Free range and coop at night. I need some advise please.

2. Monguire

Monguire Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2014
    Manassas, VA
    To provide the best advice possible, we'll need some more information. Are you feeding them a quality food ration? Either a good layer or grower (with oyster shell on the side) feed should be the basis of their diet to cover their nutritional needs. Lacking protein or calcium could cause them to look to their eggs to fulfill basic nutritional requirements.

How many chickens do you have? Large enough coop? Behavioral issues (including boredom) caused by the environment could also contribute to egg-eating.

Are you able to retrofit your coop to install rollout nest boxes? Not an option for everyone, but they are great for avoiding/eliminating egg-eating issues.

3. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Sits With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Agreed more information is needed, either your nestboxes are too small and the egg is getting broken, broken eggs will almost always be eaten to clean up the nest, or there's a deficiency in the feed causing them to crave the eggs, or they are crowded and confined with nothing else to do.

4. guenther hubert

guenther hubert New Egg

Dec 15, 2015