Chicken eggs set 6th of march, locked down today!! Exciting! Anybody else?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MelD89, Mar 24, 2012.

1. MelD89

MelD89 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 24, 2012
    Hi fellow chicken lovers!! I'm miles away in Australia and this is my first incubating and in a new fully automatic incubator :)
    I got a mixed dozen ordered online (arriving in the mail) a combination of silkies, Sussex, plymouth rock (pretty much every breed i can think of). And I also have a dozen light Sussex from a local friend.
    I went into lockdown today on day 18 and took the automatic turner racks out and laid all 24 eggs down on their sides. I had to eggs wiggling around as I lay them down :)
    How's everybody else progressing??? Keen to talk with others as I'm very new to this. I have the temp set at 37.5 degrees Celsius and 65% humidity. Sound about right??

Talk soon
    Mel

2. redhen689

redhen689 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    SE PA
    Very good! How exciting! :)
    I can't wait for an update. [​IMG]

3. buzzard chick

buzzard chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2007
    Toms River, NJ
    I've got 8 Lavander Orps. and 2 mille cochins on lockdown today. Good Luck with your hatch!

4. gatorridgechics

gatorridgechics Out Of The Brooder

Feb 29, 2012
    Missouri
    I set 30 (mixed) RR on3\6 we are supposed to go into lock down tonight. I've candled one to two times a week. I can clearly see the air sac in each egg, and a "shadow". But no details or movement. The eggs are very Brown. Is this normal to not see detail or movement? I am so nervous. this is my first hatch ever. I feel like I did when I was pregnant....I have 30 little lives depending on me to do this right!!! Needless to say I am a wreck, and this wasn't even my idea. My DH is the one who showed up one day with our 3 Bantams. I was the one who said "oh no! this is your thing chicken man'.