Chicken first aid box!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by happychick24, Nov 20, 2016.

1. happychick24

happychick24 Just Hatched

Nov 18, 2016
    Hello I am new to birds but always had animals!! What meds/supplies would be smart to keep on hand in the event of a sick bird?!? I have 2 blue copper Marans, 2 bantam ameraucanas, and 4 EE's! OHH and two Muscovy ducks!! TIA

2. Lady of McCamley

Lady of McCamley Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2011
    NW Oregon
    It will vary with each bird keeper, but this is what I like to keep on hand:

Durvet Duramycin powder or similar antibiotic powder (for general antibiotic treatment)
    Sulmet (cheaper than Corrid and will treat both coccidiosis outbreaks as well as a number of bacterial outbreaks)
    Bluekote for no-pick wound treatment
    Antibiotic ointment for skin care
    Vaseline (useful for all sorts of things, but can be used for scaly leg mites)
    Permethrin based Poultry Dust (for regular dust bathing and individual application) or Gordon's Poultry Spray

Ivermectin cattle pour on is something I keep on hand as I have had good luck with it for external mites as well as internal parasites, but it has shown to have resistance build up for some internal parasites (some feel it is not a good wormer for that). It does work well for Northern Fowl mites, but you need to treat 7 days apart for 3 treatments to eradicate that problem as well as clean and spray your coops with something like Gordon's poultry spray.

Wormer of choice. (See comments below)

A good fish net for catching the rascals when they don't want to work with you. (Saves the back! and is a lot less stressful for the bird)

Be aware that the FDA pretty much doesn't allow much of any kind of antibiotic or chemical treatment for hens that lay eggs for human consumption. The new 2017 rules will make getting meds much harder at the feed store for the backyard owner.

Until then, I would stock up with the above.

LofMc