Chicken Gangs vs. Pecking Order

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by THeINK, Aug 6, 2009.

1. THeINK

THeINK In the Brooder

Jun 16, 2009
    So Im still kinda new to the chicken seen, my first flock was kidnapped by the neighbors cat after 1 month. My second flock was attacked by my dads dumb dog at 2 months, leaving only 1 survivor, we named him/her "solo".

We bought 4 more chicks that looked about a month or so old to keep Solo company. Then eventually we bought 7 more chicks as hatchlings and kept them in the brooder indoors for about 3 months while the first patch stayed in the coop which kinda acted like a brooder outside.

When we finally took the inside chicks outside the older ones pecked them all. The older flock looks to be mostly rooster 3 more than likely and 2 could go either way. The baby flock looks to be mostly pullets, maybe a roo or two.

The older flock is really mean, they hogs all three feedrs and water bowls, and the roost!

Among the older flock of roos there doesnt appear to be an alpha, they wrestle(fight) everyonce in awhile but nothing to serious.

So are they mean because theyve been outside for about a month more and think they own the yard. or is it just because theyre "GUYS"? Is there anything I can do? Split them up? Keep some in the coop? Why cant they all just get along [​IMG]

2. THeINK

THeINK In the Brooder

Jun 16, 2009
    Oh and as far as the older flock, theyre 2barred Cochins, 1 silver phoenix, and an Minorca(if they come in bantam) and I thinka GL Wyandotte, theyre about 4 1/2 months, the minorca crows the most, and once of the cochins everyonce in awhile...but Im not sure if the cochins are roos they look identical but only one of them crows... the rest of the birds have "roo" characteristics as far as RED big combs and waddles but have yet to crow.