Chicken getting skinny and losing feathers.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Serphs, Dec 7, 2017.

1. Serphs

Serphs In the Brooder

Sep 1, 2017
    For the past few weeks, around the start of winter, one of my chickens havlife been getting a little skinny. She is smaller than her other sister, she also seems to be losing feathers. Today she didn't come out of the coop, and I've seen her shivering.

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Making Coffee

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    How old are your birds? Sounds like she is molting.

3. AMERAUCANAS4REAL

AMERAUCANAS4REAL Free Ranging

Nov 8, 2017
    Upper Midwest
    My Coop
    I agree. They do that when they molt. Need an age, however.

4. Sunshine Flock

Sunshine Flock Crowing

Sep 27, 2017
    Northern California
    This is my first time with molting chickens. It's been an unsettling experience as I've swung from wondering if they're all dying, to realizing they're molting; hence lower energy, massive loss of feathers, and no eggs whatsoever.

I hope that's what she's experiencing.

oldhenlikesdogs likes this.
  5. Serphs

Serphs In the Brooder

Sep 1, 2017
    Our chickens are around 7 months old. We originally thought that they were molting, but we ignored it because we thought they were a little young to molt? Also it's getting very cold. We have dogs that only shed in summer, we though chickens only molted then.

6. oldhenlikesdogs

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Chickens will molt in the fall. At 7 months they are a bit young for an adult molt. Do you see anyone pulling her feathers out of harassing her? It still could be a molt though. Do your birds get any extra lighting? I have a few that are still molting. It's cold here, they will be a bit cold but they will be okay.

7. Serphs

Serphs In the Brooder

Sep 1, 2017