Chicken has stopped walking, legs looking brittle

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by AD01, May 18, 2019.

1. AD01

AD01 In the Brooder

May 18, 2019
    I have this rooster that's probably about 3 or 4 years old and recently he's been having a problem standing and walking. It started about 3 weeks ago and im no expert at diagnosing chicken related health issues. I did notice that his legs always looked a little brittle and sort of flaky for a very long time but I just thought that it was normal, he was completely fine, now however, he just sits and stretches out his legs in front of him or to the side and to move around he flaps his wings. I did check to see if his poop seemed unusual but it seems okay and his diet consists of seed, bread and vegetables. I don't know where he has been sleeping the past few weeks because he cant even fly, usually he sleeps in a tree. a little help would really be appreciated.

rjohns39 likes this.
  2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Free Ranging

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    What breed? What age? What feed calcium %, protein %)

rjohns39 likes this.
  3. AD01

AD01 In the Brooder

May 18, 2019
    He's a bantam, about 3 or 4 years old and im not very sure how much protein or calcium he gets, im not a chicken breeder, I give them different things everyday and no, I do not give them supplements or vitamins, I did not know that was needed until about a month ago...

rjohns39 likes this.
  4. rjohns39

rjohns39 Wrangler

Aug 20, 2015
    Smith County, TN
    Hi and welcome to at BYC :frow We're so happy you decided to join us:ya

A Picture of his legs would be helpful as well.

5. AD01

AD01 In the Brooder

May 18, 2019
    I shall try and get a picture of them tomorrow morning, thanks so much for helping...

rjohns39 likes this.
  6. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Enabler

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio