chicken in Canada

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by bentech, Feb 25, 2013.

1. bentech

bentech Out Of The Brooder

Feb 25, 2013
    Hello everyones !!

I'm new to the world of raising chicken !! My name is Ben and i live near Montreal in canada just across the U.S border !!
    I'm planing to built my coop in the next fews weeks as soon as the snow will start melting. I'd like to have only 2 chickens because
    i dont need that much eggs and i dont have a very big backyard too !!! I have a fews things that i'm worried about, whats happen when its time to feed, give water to chickens and cleen the coop during the winter ?? During the month of january and febuary, theres alot of snow and cold weather (-20 F) Can i clean the coop only once or twices during these 2 months ?? Can i use a food and water feeder ??

Can i chicken can jump over a 5 feets fence ?? I have 2 neighbors on each sides and a big park in the back of my house, my backyard have a 5 foot fences all around and i dont want my chicken jump over the fence and get lost in the park or land in the pool of my neighbors.

I also have 2 little dog (pug) they are very good dog but they will proably want to play with the chicken. Is there some problems that can happen with little dog and chicken in the same backyard ???

Thanks for helping !!

Heres picture of my backyard, and the style of coop i want to build, its easier to give opinions when we see pictures !!
    P.S: sorry for my english, this is not my first language as its french speaking around here !!!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Bien accueillir, Ben.
    A couple things. You will eat more eggs than you currently do when you have delicious fresh eggs in your own backyard. For eggs, 2 hens per family member should be a minimum.