Chicken killing each other

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Smartcop, Feb 4, 2017.

1. Smartcop

Smartcop New Egg

Feb 4, 2017
    I'm new to raising chicken, I now have 40 Amber Whites I've had since they were 1 day old, now 14 weeks later they start killing each other. In the last two weeks I have lost 8 chickens. I thought some thing was killing them. This morning I found them pecking one to death several had blood all over them. I was told that maybe the needed oyster shells or more protein. Has any one else had this problem. I have them in a 12' x 12' caged pen.

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Too much heat, boredom, or being too crowded are the main reasons for chicks pecking each other like that.

Your chicks have reached that age where they need more room and something to occupy their time. I usually add roosts at about that age and put mine outside during the day, but it's usually June when I'm raising them. The only time I had pecking in the brooder was when I didn't move them out sooner.

3. Zoomie

Zoomie Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2015
    Mora, NM USA
    Welcome to BYC, @Smartcop lots to learn here! [​IMG]

Your space is way, way too small for that many chickens. WAY too small. When they don't have enough room, they start fighting like that. At a *minimum* they should have 10 square feet a piece. More is better! So what is happening is, as they are maturing, they are trying to carve out their own space and there is simply not enough room in there for them any more. And you might think of it as "psychological" room. You can sure cram them in there, but psychologically, they need room and space to feel happy and to thrive.