Chicken Lady needs help with Runner Ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Impress, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Impress

Impress Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Gray, TN
    I am pretty new to ducks. Chickens, I got those down. Easy peasy. These young runner ducks are driving me up the wall!

Are they truly as stupid as they seem to be, or am I just not understanding them? I made them a nice pasture today, with a lovely shelter in one corner full of hay to snuggle in and food. Waterproof little rectangle house, with one side open for easy entrancing/exiting. They are feathered, they were ready for a pasture a month ago but our weather has been up and down so I waited until a nice day to put them officially out in the weather. They have been in a covered brooder, outside, no light or anything, just a dry place to be.

I get them into the pasture, and.....they act like the shelter is the end of the world. I was worried they would get chilled if they weren't in the shelter for the night, so after one heck of a fight, I managed to stuff them all in then block the door to keep them in.

It is going to rain tomorrow with a small temperature drop. Should I attempt to let them out of the box? Should I keep them trapped for a while so they know where to run to to stay dry and be warm?

They have food and water in their little house. Thank you for any and all insight you can offer.

2. Mike Winters

Mike Winters Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 13, 2011
    maybe keep them in the shelter for they can learn that it is harmless. they are nervous because they are runners, they can be as paranoid as chicken little.

Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
  3. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    Ducks are actually pretty intelligent. Runners are a very skittish breed though.

Had they been outside before today?

4. Impress

Jun 4, 2011
    Gray, TN