Chicken laid a deformed egg

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Amyc1975, Sep 15, 2016.

1. Amyc1975

Amyc1975 Just Hatched

Sep 15, 2016
    Ok so I am a newbie, my hens are 6months old. I know this will sound bad I have three white Leghorns and three brown idk what they are! ( lol) Bought them at tractor supply! They started laying last month and now we're getting 5-6 eggs per day! Yay! Well today one of my brown ladies laid a beige egg not brown and it had a giant calcium like deposit on top and the brown chickens are much bigger than my white ones and lay bigger eggs. This egg was smaller than the Leghorn eggs. Is this something that happens from time to time. The shells are nice and hard and the whites and yolks have been perfect. Haven't cracked the odd egg yet to inspect inside of it but will in the morning. Should I be concerned?

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!
    If you post photos of your black birds we can probably help you ID their breed - nothing wrong with not knowing, but we can help if you want to know.
    WL are a small/light breed - the size disparity in your birds is not likely anything to be concerned about, and is more about your black birds being one of the heavier breeds/hybrids.