Chicken laid strange thing?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Rafa, Jan 25, 2010.

1. Rafa

Rafa Out Of The Brooder

Jan 22, 2010
    Nottingham, England
    I have posted a picture below of something strange I found in the coop the other morning. Im a beginner with chickens so for all I know it might be quite normal. One of my ladies was going crazy trying to eat it, its quite rubbery and kind of flesh like and looks and feels pretty weird, infact inside it, it looked like cooked chicken!!any ideas please?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. FortWorthChicks

FortWorthChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2009
    Fort Worth
    soft shell egg [​IMG] ...... looking again I don't know what the heck that is! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
  3. 3goodeggs

3goodeggs pays attention sporadically

May 22, 2009
    North Central Florida
    There was a thread a few weeks back about this. Someones hen laid something really bizarre. Try searching a bit. I have no idea what words to use to do a search.
    Someone will remember what it was.
    I hope she will be alright.

4. NewHobbyForMe

NewHobbyForMe Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2009
    Missouri
    Looks like the start of a baby chick to me.

5. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

6. Rafa

Rafa Out Of The Brooder

Jan 22, 2010
    Nottingham, England
    Thanks for the link to that thread Imp fantastic reading. When I first posted the pictures I didnt want to say that I thought it looked like an embryo cos I thought everyone would think I was abit crazy!