Chicken lethargic, moving strangely, poop on feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by travelingchick, Dec 5, 2014.

1. travelingchick

travelingchick Just Hatched

Mar 16, 2013
    Hi everyone! This is my first time with a sick chicken so I'm really not sure what to do. My hen is almost 2 years old and has started acting very strangely. While the others peck around outside, she stays hunched in the coop or stands in this very unnatural looking straight-up position (see picture). She will drink water and eat a bit, but when she walks she kind of staggers but in the same sort of straight-up position. When I turn her over I see a lot of poop caked to her feathers. It's hard to clean because it's been very cold here and is frozen to the feathers. I have inspected her vent but it looks clean. She hasn't been laying but I assumed it was because she was getting older and it's so dark all the time now. Can anyone help?? Thanks in advance!
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. HiyokoInNippon

HiyokoInNippon Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2014
    Japan, Hokkaido
    Did you feel her belly? Does it feel strange? How about her crop? I don't know the answer but I know that is what the next person will ask. Also, have you wormed lately?

3. travelingchick

Mar 16, 2013
    Her crop seems OK but her belly does seem a little swollen. I haven't wormed…maybe I should try that first?

4. HiyokoInNippon

Apr 29, 2014
    Japan, Hokkaido
    Give me a second to look something up, while I do that, try and find one of her poops. Fresher the better.

5. chickenstar

chickenstar Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2014