Chicken mom...now a duck mom needing help please!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LucyGoose13, May 19, 2016.

1. LucyGoose13

LucyGoose13 New Egg

May 19, 2016
    Hi,

I have been reading several of your forum's already and have decided to join your group! I have been raising backyard chickens for a couple of years now and decided to add some ducks this year. We have 6 Pekin ducklings who we will have had for 6 weeks this Sunday. Last Friday, so almost a week ago one of the ducklings started to develop a leg problem. She stopped wanting to walk and move around much. I moved her to her own area so I could monitor her better. She could still walk some at the time but usually had her wings out to help her balance. From researching that I did it seemed to be a niacin deficiency. I believe the food they were eating was not good enough for them perhaps. I went to the local feed store first thing in the morning and they didn't have much to offer. I did get a different food made for all poultry chicks, they do not have food specially for ducks and vitamin and electrolyte mixer for water. Then on I went to try to find Niacin. I had no luck at the time finding any Niacin that was not flush free or time released. I did pick up brewers yeast and began adding that to her food. She does eat and drink but I have been hand feeding her.