Chicken murder!!!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by plantguy90, Oct 11, 2009.

1. plantguy90

plantguy90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2009
    Moorpark, CA
    OK, I'm new at this, but didn't expect to discover a dead hen so soon. About four-five weeks ago I started with 2 pullets a black sex-link and a brahman, no problemo, a week later I added a rhode island red and everyone was happy, no fighting, no signs of dischord. Less than a week ago I added a buff orpington, they were all about the same size. Well I noticed the Black SL (the most dominant one) pick on the orpington a bit, but the biggest bully was the Brahman. I was and still am a bit worried about the Orpington, and maybe I will separate them if it continues. I do have multiple feeding locations.

But the wierdest things is today I discovered my Red dead in the coop. She didn't fight with anyone, and she got along just fine with my two biggest bullies. The Orpington is so hen pecked I dont imagine the buff and red got into a deadly scrape. So I dont know what could have happened. I rarely leave the place for long, but today was one o those days where I was gone for about 7 hours. They all slept together. I can see red marks along the backside of the red where there was a lot of pecking?

Can anyone clue me in?

Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Did you quarantine? For at least 3 weeks?

If not you could soon have another three dead.

Also, I never add just one bird. There is power in numbers. The more the merrier.

3. plantguy90

plantguy90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2009
    Moorpark, CA