1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicken newbie here :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rileyboza, Mar 3, 2016.

1. Rileyboza

Rileyboza New Egg

Mar 3, 2016
    Florida
    Hi everyone, my name is Riley. I've lurked this website on and off for a number of years, as I've always wanted to own a farm since I was little. Now, at the age of 22, my dream is coming true. I'm closing on a property this month and I'll have my very own 2.5 acres! I have a LOT of animals, but none of them are chickens. The only other farm animal I own currently is a lovely horse, so he will be coming with me. I'm very excited to finally have chickens in my life, but I have a lot to refresh myself on!

It's so nice to meet you all :)

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Riley and a warm welcome to BYC! - Congrats on your new farm - you must be very excited!

If you check out the Learning Centre, you'll find a whole host of resources on all things chicken.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Your state thread is worth joining as you will get to know other BYC members in your area (just type your state in the search box). In fact, the search box should become your best friend [​IMG] Lastly but by no means least, the members here are amazing - very friendly and helpful, so if you need an answer to a question or simply want some reassurance that what you are doing is ok, then post away - we all help each other out here at BYC.

All the best
    CT

3. Rileyboza

Rileyboza New Egg

Mar 3, 2016
    Florida