Chicken poop and children

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by Beachykeen, Feb 2, 2013.

1. Beachykeen

Beachykeen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2012
    SoCal
    I am new to raising chickens so forgive me if this sounds a bit odd. I use a putty knife to scape the chicken poop off of the roost everyday. I then put the putty knife blade side down into the dirt all the way up to the hilt and leave it there till I need it the next day. My daughter friends thought they would use the same putty knife to split an apple in half to check for worms, no worm, so they ate the apple. I am worried sick. I told the parents and they don't think anything can go wrong but... I KNOW WHERE THAT THING HAS BEEN! Can someone tell me if I am worried for no reason??????

2. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    Well it's too late now! Probably the worst thing would be a salmonella risk. I am sure they get just as much germ exposure from the dirt on their hands from not washing them first. I always figured it helped build immunity!

1 person likes this.
  3. Beachykeen

Beachykeen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2012
    SoCal
    True enough but dang:rolleyes:

4. Demosthine

Demosthine Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2012
    Phoenix, Arizona
    I'm with Sharon on this one. The kids that are allowed to play properly, as kids should play, are exposed to far worse germs on an everyday basis. The playgrounds at the schools are covered with more serious diseases than you'd ever care to know about. The sandboxes that they play in are a favor squatting spot for cats and dogs alike. And, of course, there are all the kids that wipe their noses or pick their noses and smear it on whatever surface is nearby.