1. lalydiafaith

lalydiafaith In the Brooder

Apr 5, 2018
    Richmond, Va
    Hi everyone! I'm a beginner at chicken raising and need some advice/feedback. I'm working on building a coop and then i'm going to need a run. I live in the city and have a good size backyard. I am getting 4 chickens to start out with, so i need some advice on how big my run needs to be. And i want them to be happy as well. They will not be free ranging since i have neighbors that have dogs and no fence in between our yard. So they will not be coming out of the run very often. You are more than welcome to give me any other advice and i appreciate the tips and feedback! -Lydia

City girl Philly and Sdominique like this.
  2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. .....

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    There is no such thing as too much space, so give them as much space as you can...the absolute minimum is 10 sq ft per bird, but as you are anticipating nearly constant confinement I would suggest at least 20 per bird. Build bigger now so you don't have to build again later if you decide to grow your flock

venymae, Foster's Freehold and aart like this.
  3. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. .....

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Is your yard fenced? If not, with the dogs as a concern build extra secure....a fenced yard adds a layer of security that you will need to make up for in an unfenced yard. Either way, poultry netting alone is not secure, use hardware cloth

4. nminusyplusm

nminusyplusm Crowing

Mar 29, 2017
    Deming, NM
    Welcome to BYC! X2 what Ol Grey Mare said. How many chickens are you allowed to have? I'd build a coop and run for that number because chicken math

Ol Grey Mare likes this.
  5. lalydiafaith

Apr 5, 2018
    Richmond, Va