1. Coverts chickens

Coverts chickens New Egg

Nov 5, 2009
    I just built a 12 X 26 chicken coop I will send pictures when I finish tomorrow. But this is my first time and I don't know nothing about how a chicken run should be could someone help me? How big should it be right now they run loose on 10 acres and come home every night (Lucky so far)

2. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    How many chickens do you have?

That will help folks give you suggestoins on the run!

Thanks and have a blessed day

3. loralei

loralei Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2009
    New Caney, Texas
    Welcome to BYC! I posted on this very topic this morning. You may find some of the information in that thread helpful. I certainly did!

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=264205

The following is from Raising Chickens 101:

Chicken Care After First 60 Days, General Chicken Care:

Chicken Coops - Once feathered out you'll want to move your chickens into a chicken coop! Rule of thumb is about 2-3 square feet per chicken inside the henhouse and 4-5 sq/ft per chicken in an outside run. Keep local predators in mind and make a safe home for your flock!

Please keep in mind the square footages are minimums. The run we are currently constructing is approximately 560 sq. ft. and I will eventually have about 40 chickens in there which gives them each about 14 sq. ft.

Godspeed,
    Laura

4. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Quote:So, they're going to continue to free range, are they, and the run is just for occasional 'lockdown' security? If that's the case, just build it whatever size you feel like [​IMG], preferably in the 6-10 sq ft per chicken sort of realm, and they will be FINE.