Chicken Sickness, need help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by DonnnyT, Sep 18, 2016.

1. DonnnyT

DonnnyT New Egg

Sep 5, 2016
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Hello everyone, I am new to Backyard Chickens. I recently got a house and have finally aquired 3 Plymouth Barred Rock hens. They were about a month old when I got them. I moved them out to the coop about 9 weeks old. They were doing fine. Last night I went out to check on them and one (usually very active) girl was cowering in the back. I went in to check and she had a huge lump on her chest that none of the others had. She was acting very sluggish and not like herself. After doing some reseach I came across that it could be normal or something bad. I couldnt find anything certain. So after hours of forcing her small amounts of apple cider vinegar and water mix, and making her throw up. The bump seemed to go down alittle and she was more active. I took her in for the night to keep a eye on her but sadly, she died this morning. I buried her and now another one seems to have the same symptoms! I am feeding them starter feed until they start laying. I need to figure out what is going on so I dont do the same thing to this one, withouth the knowledge I dont want to be hurting them more than helping. I dont know what is going on and would love some advice from yall! Thanks alot and hope to hear back!

Donny

2. Brienna

Brienna Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2014
    Quebec, Canada
    Welcome to BYC :)
    Could the bump on her chest simply be the crop?? It's on the right side of a chicken's chest. It can be all kinds of sizes during the day. It should be full at night and check first thing in the morning to make sure it is empty (withhold food for the night until you go check on them in the morning to make sure they don't eat before). If you can still feel something hard, there might be an impaction.