Chicken standing up like a Penguin

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rEGGae chick, Jan 8, 2011.

1. rEGGae chick

rEGGae chick Out Of The Brooder

Oct 29, 2009
    Norwood, Colorado
    So I went out this morning to find one of my New Hampshire Reds standing up like a penguin. She did try to eat. When I picked her up it felt squishy but swollen in her abdomen. Her vent is clear but it was a little messy. I started with 15 chicks last year and this is their second year. It's my first time ever having chickens, and even though I live in an area where there are lots of people that have chickens the vet doesn't see chickens. Any ideas of what might be going on. Do I leave her in with the rest of the coop. They have an 8x8 shed and it's heated with a heat lamp. It's closed up at night also.
    Help![​IMG]

2. superchemicalgirl

superchemicalgirl HEN PECKED

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    Sounds like egg bound or internal laying. Do a search at the top right and good luck.

3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    So she's 2 yrs old? does she lay? sounds like an egg problem. Try soaking her in warm water for about 30 min. then drying her and putting her in a quiet place on a heating pad on low with towels wrapped around the heating pad, check on her every 3omin and see hows shes doing, you'll probably have to soak her more than once, chickens like a good soak so she'll probably relax and thats what you want her to do, so she'll pass the egg. Please keep us updated!!

4. Judy

Judy Chicken Obsessed Staff Member Premium Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    If you separate her for more than a few hours to treat her, she is in danger of their not recognizing her, which means she will then be at the bottom of the pecking order.

There are links to good threads about eggbound and internal layers on the FAQ page.

5. rEGGae chick

Oct 29, 2009
    Norwood, Colorado