Chicken Stuck

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by clawrence628, Jan 16, 2010.

1. clawrence628

clawrence628 New Egg

Jan 16, 2010
    Hi, I am new to this and we have had three eggs hatch beautifully. We have one in the incubator now that has pipped and done the circle around but now has been stuck for going on four hours. It was moving around and peeping alot and now seems to be slowing down. I am sure it is stressed, I know I am. My concern is that there is a white membrane that looks stuck on the feathers. The temp is 99.5 and humidity is 70%. There was a decrease when we removed the two chicks that had been in there for a day and were "bullying" the third hatch...but it went back to normal within 30 minutes. Any hints, or is there no hope. I am just sick to my stomach. Any advice or knowledge on what will happen next? Should I do anything?

2. Paganbird

Paganbird CrescentWood Farm

Apr 25, 2009
    Western Pa
    Here is the link on how to help the chick out of the shell:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=9316

If there are any eggs pipped, you should not open the incubator. That quick drop in humidity is probably what got the chick stuck.
    If it has already zipped & is stuck - you should help it out of the shell. Next time, just leave the chicks in until all the pipped eggs have hatched.
    Good Luck.

3. Cindiloohoo

Cindiloohoo Quiet as a Church Mouse

Dec 19, 2009
    Southwest TN
    Spray or drop some warm water on the membrane ASAP and try to help it a little. It is obviously too dry if the membrane is stuck to the fluff. This is where you SHOULD HELP! [​IMG] Congrats on the new babies!!!

4. Lensters

Lensters Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2009
    Adair Village, OR