Chicken tractor -- do they HAVE to be locked in the coop at night?

lceh

Songster
11 Years
Oct 15, 2008
Central Virginia
I'm a chicken newbie planning to get our first chicks this spring. We're hoping to have 3 or 4 Buff Orpington hens. Here's the chicken tractor my dad is building for me:

http://cgi.ebay.com/CHICKEN-TRACTOR...9|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:1|293:1|294:50

This tractor is designed for the chickens to come and go in and out of the coop as they please, not to be locked up in the coop portion at night. There's a roosting bar in the wire run portion. I am very concerned about predators because I know we have raccoons, so instead of chicken wire we plan to use hardware cloth fastened with washers and screws, as well as rabbit wire on the bottom to keep out digging critters. If we do all this, do we still need to lock up the hens at night in their little "house"? I had originally thought we would, and was planning to make the coop larger and add a locking door, an interior roosting bar, and ventilation, but I'm wondering if that's really necessary. Someone please advise! The chickens are going to be a homeschool project with my first grader, so I'm pretty eager to avoid chicken carnage in our urban front yard....

EllyMae, get out of those cookies!!
wee.gif

The hens will go in the coop at night, but you will, as you said, need to make it really heavy duty. If nothing else, the 'coons can tip it over and cause havoc.

For more than 2 hens, I'd "stretch" the design a bit, for more space, and add the interior roosting bar. That way they can get out of inclement weather better. More space equals happier and healthier hens, too.

Good luck!

Quote:
OMG! DANG it! Busted again...still eating...now have a sugar cookie in my hand while DD and DH battle it out with guitar hero. They haven't even noticed that I came up(more like sneaked upstairs)

welcome-byc.gif

Beware!
Manufactures for ready made or buying plans for coops usually don’t give the room needed!