1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicken training question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jdaly91215, Jan 2, 2014.

1. jdaly91215

jdaly91215 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 30, 2013
    I'm new to chicken raising and have been doing as much research as humanely possible before we get our little peeps in the spring.

We're going to build them a permanent coop and run, and also a 10x20' moveable pasture pen made out of pvc and chicken wire that they can use to forage in during the day.

Can I train my chickens to follow me from the coop to the pen and back every day? I'm planning on starting their training while they're still chicks by teaching them to come to me with treats, and moving from there. I'm also planning on feeding them breakfast in the pens in the morning and dinner in the coop/run in the evenings to further entice them to follow me where I want them to go.

Does anyone do this and is it feasible? Or are they just going to get too distracted by everything outside and am I more likely going to end up playing chicken round up everyday? Unfortunately free ranging without supervision is out of the question where we live.

Thanks!

2. TallChickMagnet

TallChickMagnet Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2012
    Jurupa Valley, CA
    From my experience you can teach them to follow the food. After a while they will associate you with food... :)

3. jenifry

jenifry Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2012
    South Dakota