chicken w/ mouth always open - worm in throat?!?!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by YolandaT, Jun 18, 2010.

1. YolandaT

YolandaT In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Hi I am new to this and have a question if my chicken is sick! She is a 6 week old, supposed to be a silver laced wyandotte but now she is looking more like some sort of black and gray speckled bird (got her from a lady at a farm so can't be sure exactly)

For about a week now, she ALWAYS has her mouth open and her tongue is wagging around. It is hot during the day but not too bad yet, and once it cools off she's still doing it. My other 2 chickens sort of pant when it is hottest but she does it always. She is eating and drinking and her face looks normal, at least normal to me but what do I know.

I thought she was just always hot but today I mentioned it to the feed store owner when I went to get more food, and he said it might be some kind of WORM in her throat!! Wha??

Does anyone know anything about this worm and how I can find out more about it, and what do I do if she does have this worm in her throat?

Oh my goodness so much for our newbies to learn!! I appreciate any advice or info, thank you!!

2. mamaluv321

mamaluv321 In the Brooder

Mar 30, 2010
    I read somthng about this recently, do a search for gapeworm, think that might be what fs person was talking about. Good luck!

3. YolandaT

YolandaT In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    Austin, TX
    thanks for the name, I looked up Gapeworm and it says the chicken will look like its yawning and try to breathe out of its nostrils, and shake its head alot

Mine isn't doing any of this. I just went out and looked at her again and it's not hot out at all, theyre all sleeping, and shes sitting there with her mouth open and her tongue wagging. What the heck?!?

What could this BE?

4. PunkinPeep

PunkinPeep Songster

Mar 31, 2009
    SouthEast Texas