Chicken Waterer design

borhaaa

In the Brooder
Jul 20, 2015
Walpole NH
Hey guys,
I'm a product designer by profession and a backyard chicken rancher on the side. And as someone who makes products for a living I can't tell you how much it pains me to spend $40+ on a new waterer only to have it break, leak, get covered in funk, crack, feeeze, and be a total pain to fill and or clean over and over again. I've owned at least 6 waterers over the last few years and none of them survived 4 seasons.

So, I wanted to get your advice on what product actually works well, or if you share my same disgruntled experience, what you would like in an ideal waterer so I can design one that solves all our needs. Happy to get some beta testers lined up. Anyway if you have any thoughts please lemme know.

Something that's easy to refill, easy to clean and doesnt leak. Worst thing is to fill a 3-5 gallon waterer thinking they have plenty of water to find out your chicken never had water the entire day.

I bought this one last fall before winter but found out imposssible to clean (no access to clean the reservoir)
IMG_4289.jpg

I don't have to deal with freezing weather, LOVE the Horizontal Water Nipples. Read about here, comparing the horizontal to vertical (leak complaints), found it on Amazon & easy install. I got some soft plastic containers, Hubby drilled the hole & screwed it in, no drips & I've been using for over a year now. I did have to drill a hole (vacuum) close to the rim & have a lid for it. I did have to raise it as they got taller but love it.

It's recommend for chicks 8wks & older but I've tried/monitored week olds & they did fine. Just showed them by tapping the "nipple", they figure to tap under it & water comes out....Just make sure there's a "vent" to release the vacuum, thought it stopped working & was disappointed but figure it out. No more shavings in the water & wet bedding. I have one for chicks & one for my girls (4). DSC02988.JPG DSC03371.JPG