Chicken wheezing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Jen73, Mar 13, 2015.

1. Jen73

Jen73 New Egg

Mar 13, 2015
    Hi, this is my first post.

I'm new with chickens and have a 1yr old hen that has labored breathing (she wheezes). She also sneezes. Her eyes and nose are clear and have no mucous problems. In addition, she eats, drinks, and poops normally. She has been quarantined for about a little over a month now.

When we first brought her in she was gasping for air with her neck stretched out. This seemed to happen right after we had a few really cold days one of which was very windy.

We tried VetRx and putting electrolytes in water, but she didn't get any better. In addition, she started to sneeze and cough. We took her to the vet and he put her on an antibiotic for 2wks which seemed to work - she stopped wheezing and sneezing. She was also tested for gape worm which came back negative.

When we went for a follow up visit the vet said that we could start reintroducing her to the flock. Within a couple of days we noticed that her breathing started to be labored again. And just yesterday she and another girl got into a little tiff; she ran away and started gasping for air just like the first day we brought her in. It took approximately 10mins for her breathing to calm down. It's almost as if she had an asthma attack.

I don't know if this helps but it is around 40 degrees outside. In addition, none of our other birds are showing signs of sickness or stress.

Can she have asthma that is brought on by cold and stress?
    If anyone has experienced something similar to this or has any suggestions on what we should/could do, I'd greatly appreciate your input.

Thanks and sorry for the long post.

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio