chicken with a dodgy leg

chickchicks

Songster
8 Years
Jul 28, 2011
warrington uk
hello

my chicken ruby has been limping for a few days ive checked her over and there is no green brusing or bakes

she does occasionally use this leg when hopping around but i am a little concerend as i am new to chickensthis year.

im guessing its a sprain as the area on her legas the knee? is a little warmer than the rest you can bend it and move around and she is not in pain there is no crying or anything , she does not seem to grip though then i pit my finger under her claw asshe should do,
she is a new bird and gets chased about a little but when this happens she does have a good run on her.

is there anything i can do for her as i am guessing this is something that willheal on its own , im just worried that since she is hopping about everwhere theothers may catch on and bully her more and more to the point of a bad injury .

- her sister came the sametime isfine and has started to integrate a little leaving ruby behind from time to time so im not sure what to do ....

any advice thank you

if she were mine, this is what I would do
1. I'd check the bottom of her feet for a bumblefoot scab or any swelling
2. I'd bring her in in a cat carrier. The stable temperature indoors combined with restricting her movement would help her body to heal any strain or mild injury.
3. Give her a bit of meat or egg for protien and vitimins in the water for her body to use to heal
4. Massage around the joint a little. It will increase circulation and therefore healing

I'd probably keep her in a small space for two days or until I saw improvement. I've done this before for this long with a hen and had no problems putting her back with the flock.
If after two days she wasn't showing any improvement she's be off to the vet!

Last edited:
thanks

ive looked at the foot thereis nothing there just normal looking,