1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

chicken with a dodgy leg

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickchicks, Nov 8, 2011.

1. chickchicks

chickchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 28, 2011
    warrington uk
    hello

my chicken ruby has been limping for a few days ive checked her over and there is no green brusing or bakes

she does occasionally use this leg when hopping around but i am a little concerend as i am new to chickensthis year.

im guessing its a sprain as the area on her legas the knee? is a little warmer than the rest you can bend it and move around and she is not in pain there is no crying or anything , she does not seem to grip though then i pit my finger under her claw asshe should do,
    she is a new bird and gets chased about a little but when this happens she does have a good run on her.

is there anything i can do for her as i am guessing this is something that willheal on its own , im just worried that since she is hopping about everwhere theothers may catch on and bully her more and more to the point of a bad injury .

- her sister came the sametime isfine and has started to integrate a little leaving ruby behind from time to time so im not sure what to do ....

any advice thank you

2. Animalian

Animalian Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2011
    Australia
    if she were mine, this is what I would do
    1. I'd check the bottom of her feet for a bumblefoot scab or any swelling
    2. I'd bring her in in a cat carrier. The stable temperature indoors combined with restricting her movement would help her body to heal any strain or mild injury.
    3. Give her a bit of meat or egg for protien and vitimins in the water for her body to use to heal