Chicken with an injured leg, also a newcomer

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by soulshinemom, Sep 7, 2016.

1. soulshinemom

soulshinemom New Egg

Apr 16, 2016
    Hi. A short background so all of this makes sense- this is my first year as a chicken mom, and my first flock. I started with 6 Rhode Island reds and 6 white leghorns. Right around when they all started laying my neighbors dog got in the run and killed 6 of them- I heard the noise and came outside but even with kicking the dog- even with wrestling it the dog just kept getting chickens. I finally got the coop closed and the rest safe and got rid of the stupid dog- but I was now down to 6. A few weeks later I had the opportunity to buy 3 more hens and did so. I didn't know how far apart in age they actually were, I think I was mislead into thinking they are older and I had to separate them in an enclosed run inside my run. I take them in the coop at night and put them on the roost and nobody cares, then in the morning they hide until I get them back into their enclosure. They were very skittish when They got here understandably- and one in particular it's just really scared of everything . She's a silver laced Wyandotte and the other two are an Easter Agre and a black lace Wyandotte . Ever since I brought her here I've noticed that she's limping . I'm not sure if she hurt her leg during her transport - she was served along with the other two and do a cat carrier when I got there but I put them into a dog crate that was much bigger in my backseat . When they got here I tried to let them all get to know each other but it was very stressful and didn't work well which is why I separated them after checking this site for advice. It's been a few weeks now and the leg is no better but no worse . I'm no expert but I felt it extensively and I just can't feel anything with my hands that is wrong all the way up to the hip. She will bear some weight on it but not much and liens agai