Chickens and goats good or bad idea?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hikerfrog99, Jan 27, 2014.

1. hikerfrog99

hikerfrog99 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 27, 2014
    South Carolina
    I am new to hobby farming and currently have chickens. I have plenty of property and would like to have 2 goats. I would like to know if I do this how would I go about it as far as my chickens are concerned. Can they be together and have separate sleep areas? Please share your knowledge and experience. I have wanted to have a hobby farm all my life and need help along the way. Thank you!

2. [​IMG]
    It is fine! I have 4 goats and the chickens free-range with them in the day. They get along very well. Sometimes when one of my goats is taking a nap one of the chickens will walk on 'em, and the goats don't mind! So yes you can have goats with chickens. Just a warning if the chicken food is where the goats can get to it they will eat it.

3. hikerfrog99

Jan 27, 2014
    South Carolina
    Thank you so much! I will be sure to keep the feed away from the goats. I was asking because I was reading about the chickens eating the goat feces and how the chemicals from the working meds and such can effect the chickens and/or their eggs. I want to be sure I keep all my animals safe and healthy.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hi there, [​IMG] and welcome to BYC!

I used to keep goats long before I kept chickens. But there are many people here that keep goats and chickens together with no problems.

Good luck in all your livestock adventures and enjoy BYC!

1 person likes this.
  5. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC!

1 person likes this.
  6. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
    Welcome to BYC! I don't know the answer but welcome :)

1 person likes this.
  7. hikerfrog99