chickens and goats- help! Our pet German Shepherd needs retraining!!!!

maf2008

Songster
12 Years
Feb 19, 2009
We have a 13 acre ranch, and I am NEW to chickens and caught the addiction BIG TIME.

Me (mostly) and my gamily built a "fortress" for chickens, triple gated and double doored with 2x4's plus all but a few feet are hard cloth covered. (the rest of wiring is chicken wire and is 8 feet off of the ground. Around the 4 sides I put 2 foot wide 12 foot long aluminum guttering (scraps) around the bottom and laid a few hundred pounds of rocks to keep the coons and critters from digging. I have a 20X22 chicken coop and its 7 feet high! (3 rooms and a hallway)

I have a German Shepherd dog, he is 3 years old today. He is my pet and faithful friend. Problem.... He is a trained attack dog and was raised in the city. We moved to the country 6 months ago and he has never been so happy. But we know if a chicken gets over the fence it will be history. "Rudy" has seen the chicks thru the cage and lunged at them but I pulled him away. (He could not get through the bars)

We also have 6 new goats and two times in ONE DAY he tried to chase, pin down and we think kill the goats. What do I do? He has a strong instinct to kill/attack? A shock collar? I was thinking about muzzling him and "hobbleing him" with a chain and a 200/300 lb log and put him in the field with the chickens and goats.

Please PLEASE help, I love all of my animals and need my protector dog. We do have a "chicken field" and a "goat pasture" But I want my dog to be able to go to either one. ALL ADVICE AND IDEAS are appreciated. Many thanks. (I have 91 chickens ALL kinds, 23 eggs in the bator-I am a first timer and 10 ideal pullet 236 on hold for me at the feed store!) I am addicted to chickens. This site needs a BIGGER "warning and disclaimer page". Chickens are more than addictive!

you can retrain him, just don't let him get out of sight on his own until you do.