1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chickens appear to not be eating from feeder and pecking each other

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by jimmyneutrontx, Dec 28, 2010.

1. jimmyneutrontx

jimmyneutrontx New Egg

Dec 23, 2010
    I am new to raising chickens and need some help in figuring out how much to feed them. I have 6 all white hens (California White). At no time do they free range. I am currently getting an average of 5 eggs per day. They are getting fed Layena crumbles and chicken scratch mixed together in a hanging feeder which is currnetly full and has been for a few days. The problems is that 3 of my flock have lost feathers around their vents and tail feathers. They do no appear to have mites, but I have noticed them pecking at each other. I'm wondering if they are no longer going to the the feeder so yesterday I piled up there food inside the coop and they all attacked it like they hadn't eatten in a while.
    I wonder if I should remove the feeder all together and just put their feed out for them on a daily basis and if this will stop the loss of feathers/pecing problem. And of so how much food should I feed per chicken.

Thanks for the input.

2. snowflake

snowflake Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2009
    Belding Michigan