Chickens are losing weight and feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bobanna02, Oct 31, 2016.

1. bobanna02

bobanna02 New Egg

Oct 31, 2016
    Hi, I'm Joanna. I'm new to chickens and have learned from some of my friends with farms. I've asked for advice from them and we have them stumped. My fiance had chickens and we've added to the flock. We probably didn't handle it right, since it seems they've been sick off and on since.

1) What type of bird, age and weight (does the chicken seem or feel lighter or thinner than the others.)
    They started out happy and healthy.
    [​IMG]

We have three types, Rhode Island Reds (1.5 years old had since chicks), 2 Buff Orpingtons (.5 years old purchased at feed store at 2 and 3 months old), and a Buff Orpington mutt rooster (about 2 years old from a friends' farm).
    The rhode island reds and the rooster seem to be losing weight and feathers. They have gotten scrawnier in the last month.

2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    We recently had to cull a rhode island red, because she seemed so sick and in pain, her fluffy feathers near her vent were all matted with poop and she was extremely lethargic, she smelled really bad too. She was missing most of the feathers from her front. We laid her down to check her out and she didn't fuss or run or anything.
    [​IMG]

We are worried the other rhode islands and the rooster have what she had.

The current chickens have lost feathers and weight, and the rooster's feet have pink on them. They are all missing feathers on their chests.

3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
    We doctored them after she was culled with mite spray. They were missing feathers on their chests.
    This picture was about 3 weeks ago.

[​IMG]

For a month or two it seems the hens and rooster have had some issues.
    This picture is from last week.
    [​IMG]

One of the hens is looking particularly rough as well, I think both are struggling.