Chickens continuously eating feathers off each other!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by kerstina, Nov 23, 2013.

1. kerstina

kerstina New Egg

Nov 23, 2013
    Hi,
    So I'm new to the chicken world!! I have 8 Rhode Island Reds and no roosters. I don't let them free range because we live right up against the woods so it wouldn't end well. I've had them almost 2 years. This past summer I noticed they were picking feathers off each other and eating them. I came to this wonderful site and found that it might be a protein deficiency so I changed their food. I also give them the black sunflower seeds, boil eggs and crush them shell and all, and give them all sorts of left overs that have protein. They also get weeds and grass. They're still eating the feathers off each other. So now I'm getting 0-4 eggs a day because they're continuously molting. I don't know if they're bored. They have about 120 sq feet outside to roam around that's protected and a good sized coop. I live in NH so my chickens really need feathers for the winter. I don't know what else to do. I like having chickens but I just want them all to have feathers!!!! Thanks for the suggestions!! Kerstin

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Sounds like your supplements are good.
    What is their primary feed?

3. kerstina

kerstina New Egg

Nov 23, 2013
    I feed them Poulin feed and it's the Egg Production Plus.

4. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Are they getting a lot of scratch grains?

5. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

You can put pinless peepers on them to see if you can break them of the habit- they work for some people to stop feather picking. Others not so much. I have never used them but have read if you soften them in warm water they are applied more easily.

6. chickengeorgeto

chickengeorgeto Overrun With Chickens

Dec 25, 2012