Chickens & Dogs!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 3boysfarm, Jul 31, 2010.

1. 3boysfarm

3boysfarm New Egg

Jul 26, 2010
    Hi All!
    I'm new to BYC as of today! My hushand and I are educating ourselves for our future filled with hens! We're very excited and love this site! Its been very helpful and I can't get enough knowledge about coops, types of hens...etc...
    My question is, we have a 4 yr old male Jack Russell Terrier, he's friendly with other dogs, great with my 3 sons..chases squirrels in our yard, random cats that may hop the chain link fence over to us...so, my fear is how he will react to our hens. They will have a safe area for them to roam, but should we introduce him to them slowly will the hopes that he may get used to them and not try to chase or even kill them????

Thank you!

Lee

2. Finn's Mom

Finn's Mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome to BYC! I have an ancient cairn terrier (16!), and he is STILL a terror (though we love him!). We treat our chickens as if they will be invaded by every predator known to man (which they could be her in NoVa) and while they have lots of room to roam, they don't free range. We are worried about the foxes, coyotes, raccoons, etc, of course, but my personal irony would be for one of my own dogs to have a chicken lunch while my back is turned! So far, we have been fine. Just take some precautions, don't expect your dog to be something he is not capable of being and you all will have a great time. Good luck!

3. BoulderCityFoul

BoulderCityFoul Out Of The Brooder

Jun 22, 2010
    Boulder City, NV
    Lee,