chickens dying one by one

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sykochik, Nov 12, 2008.

1. sykochik

sykochik New Egg

Nov 12, 2008
    Carrollton, GA
    I am fairly new to the chicken world, having moved to a place with a flock of 20-some chickens 6 months ago. This flock consists of birds of a variety of breeds and ages. They sleep inside a house at night and have free access to a large run (possibly an acre). About 1.5 - 2 months ago (approx when the chickens began molting) a rooster started looking very depressed. He got this hunched-up look, like his neck suddenly disappeared or shortened, and his comb got very floppy. He became progressively lethargic, moving around slowly, and he eventually developed a loud rattling noise. He died after 2-3 weeks of onset of symptoms. Then the same thing happened to another rooster, which died a couple of weeks ago, and a hen developed the same symptoms. This morning, I found that hen dead and noticed that another hen was hunched up and lethargic. This seems to be happening in the older birds in the flock, but I'm worried about the rest and wonder 1) what the heck is going on?! 2) what I might be able to do for the sick ones, and 3) protect the rest of the flock.